UPDATE: The launch has been scrubbed for today – SpaceX is evaluating whether to attempt tomorrow during its backup window, given weather conditions.

SpaceX is set to launch the latest batch of its Starlink satellites on Thursday, with a target lift-off time of 2:19 PM EDT (11:19 AM PDT). The mission will take off from Kennedy Space Center in Florida, and there’s a backup opportunity tomorrow at 1:57 PM EDT (10:57 AM PDT) in case weather or any other issues prevent a launch attempt today.

The launch today will add to SpaceX’s growing constellation of operational Starlink satellites on orbit. There are now over 500 of these circling the globe, as SpaceX conducts private beta testing of its high-speed, low-latency consumer internet service and prepares for an open beta launch later this year. The goal is to create a scalable, eventually globe-spanning service that can provide service where previously unavailable, or to customers who had to rely on shaky or slow connections in past.

The launch today includes use of a Falcon 9 first stage booster that has flow twice previously, including first during SpaceX’s landmark Demo-2 Crew Dragon mission, the first ever for the company to carry human astronauts. SpaceX will also be attempting to recover the booster yet again for another future launch. One of the two fairing halves that protect the cargo atop the Falcon 9 was also used previously, on two separate occasions, for other Starlink satellite launches.

The livestream above will begin roughly 15 minutes before the target liftoff time, so at around 2:04 PM EDT (11:04 AM PDT).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like

Trump signs an executive order allowing mining the Moon and asteroids – Universe Today

In 2015, the Obama administration signed the U.S. Commercial Space Launch Competitiveness…

Google just released 1,000 new images of the most gorgeous landscapes in Google Earth View

Google has shared bird’s-eye-view images of some of Earth’s most stunning landscapes…